KOMO News - Healthworks http://www.komonews.com/news/health en-us KOMO News Sun, 29 Mar 2015 22:08:29 -0700 Sun, 29 Mar 2015 22:08:29 -0700 10 Food psychology: making meals more satisfying http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Food-psychology-making-meals-more-satisfying-297701251.html By Molly Shen http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Food-psychology-making-meals-more-satisfying-297701251.html Thu, 26 Mar 2015 16:11:05 -0700 2015-03-26T16:11:05-07:00 2015-03-26T16:14:29-07:00 UW applies for permission to perform face transplants http://www.komonews.com/news/health/UW-applies-for-permission-to-perform-face-transplants-297595861.html By Molly Shen http://www.komonews.com/news/health/UW-applies-for-permission-to-perform-face-transplants-297595861.html Wed, 25 Mar 2015 17:24:42 -0700 2015-03-25T17:24:42-07:00 CDC: Uninsured drop by 11 million since Obamacare http://www.komonews.com/news/health/CDC-Uninsured-drop-by-11-million-since-Obamacare-297419281.html By RICARDO ALONSO-ZALDIVAR, Associated Press http://www.komonews.com/news/health/CDC-Uninsured-drop-by-11-million-since-Obamacare-297419281.html Tue, 24 Mar 2015 11:45:10 -0700 2015-03-24T11:45:10-07:00 2015-03-24T12:05:02-07:00 World's top chefs say eat small fish to make big difference http://www.komonews.com/news/national/Worlds-top-chefs-say-eat-small-fish-to-make-big-difference-296654771.html By ALAN CLENDENNING / Associated Press http://www.komonews.com/news/national/Worlds-top-chefs-say-eat-small-fish-to-make-big-difference-296654771.html Tue, 17 Mar 2015 16:56:26 -0700 2015-03-17T16:56:26-07:00 2015-03-17T16:56:25-07:00 UK, drugmakers establish $100 million Alzheimer's fund http://www.komonews.com/news/health/UK-drugmakers-establish-100-million-Alzheimers-fund-296595861.html By LINDA A. JOHNSON, AP Business Writer http://www.komonews.com/news/health/UK-drugmakers-establish-100-million-Alzheimers-fund-296595861.html Tue, 17 Mar 2015 10:12:47 -0700 2015-03-17T10:12:47-07:00 2015-03-17T10:12:45-07:00 Studies boost hopes for new class of cholesterol medicines http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Studies-boost-hopes-for-new-class-of-cholesterol-medicines-296367261.html By Associated Press http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Studies-boost-hopes-for-new-class-of-cholesterol-medicines-296367261.html Sun, 15 Mar 2015 10:10:56 -0700 2015-03-15T10:10:56-07:00 2015-03-15T10:10:53-07:00 Bill Gates, Michael Bloomberg launch anti-tobacco legal fund http://www.komonews.com/news/microsoft/Bill-Gates-Michael-Bloomberg-launch-anti-tobacco-legal-fund-296768871.html By MICHAEL FELBERBAUM, AP Tobacco Writer http://www.komonews.com/news/microsoft/Bill-Gates-Michael-Bloomberg-launch-anti-tobacco-legal-fund-296768871.html Wed, 18 Mar 2015 12:28:06 -0700 2015-03-18T12:28:06-07:00 Tony Stark can put on an iron suit...the rest of us have to turn to other options http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Even-Tony-Stark-need-some-iron-296221341.html By Marina Rockinger http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Even-Tony-Stark-need-some-iron-296221341.html Fri, 13 Mar 2015 09:27:53 -0700 2015-03-13T09:27:53-07:00 2015-03-13T09:31:32-07:00 Tempted to go under the knife? Don't forget the alternatives http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Tempted-to-go-under-the-knife-Dont-forget-the-alternatives-296054061.html By Marina Rockinger http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Tempted-to-go-under-the-knife-Dont-forget-the-alternatives-296054061.html Thu, 12 Mar 2015 06:12:57 -0700 2015-03-12T06:12:57-07:00 To vaccinate or not? Debate rages on for Washington parents http://www.komonews.com/news/health/House--296013901.html By Molly Shen http://www.komonews.com/news/health/House--296013901.html Wed, 11 Mar 2015 21:05:06 -0700 2015-03-11T21:05:06-07:00 Sleep aid in a bottle? http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Sleep-aid-in-a-bottle-295928931.html By Denise Whitaker http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Sleep-aid-in-a-bottle-295928931.html Wed, 11 Mar 2015 11:27:04 -0700 2015-03-11T11:27:04-07:00 2015-03-12T10:08:55-07:00 Could that cup of joe help fight M.S.? http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Could-that-cup-of-joe-help-fight-MS-295769121.html By Marina Rockinger http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Could-that-cup-of-joe-help-fight-MS-295769121.html Tue, 10 Mar 2015 09:33:08 -0700 2015-03-10T09:33:08-07:00 2015-03-11T09:21:39-07:00 Social Jet Lag: Most of us get it! http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Social-Jet-Lag-Most-of-us-get-it-294864011.html By Marina Rockinger http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Social-Jet-Lag-Most-of-us-get-it-294864011.html Wed, 04 Mar 2015 02:30:00 -0700 2015-03-04T01:30:00-08:00 2015-03-03T11:24:52-08:00 Bone Broth: Is it all that its cracked up to be? http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Bone-Broth-Is-it-all-that-its-cracked-up-to-be-294644281.html By Marina Rockinger http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Bone-Broth-Is-it-all-that-its-cracked-up-to-be-294644281.html Mon, 02 Mar 2015 06:46:48 -0700 2015-03-02T05:46:48-08:00 2015-03-02T09:02:26-08:00 UN: Limit use of personal audio players to 1 hour a day http://www.komonews.com/news/health/UN-says-limit-use-of-personal-audio-players-to-1-hour-a-day-294404021.html By FRANK JORDANS, Associated Press http://www.komonews.com/news/health/UN-says-limit-use-of-personal-audio-players-to-1-hour-a-day-294404021.html Fri, 27 Feb 2015 12:02:45 -0700 2015-02-27T11:02:45-08:00 2015-02-27T11:02:42-08:00 Beauty trend: face shaving for women? http://www.komonews.com/news/local/Beauty-trend-face-shaving-for-women-293926041.html By Molly Shen http://www.komonews.com/news/local/Beauty-trend-face-shaving-for-women-293926041.html Wed, 25 Feb 2015 00:03:36 -0700 2015-02-24T23:03:36-08:00 2015-02-24T23:30:38-08:00 Question: What can lower blood sugar and lower cholesterol? Answer: Fiber http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Fiber-292075691.html By Marina Rockinger http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Fiber-292075691.html Mon, 16 Feb 2015 08:51:02 -0700 2015-02-16T07:51:02-08:00 Vaccine opposition has ebbed and flowed over centuries http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Vaccine-opposition-has-ebbed-and-flowed-over-centuries-291956021.html By MIKE STOBBE AP Medical Writer http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Vaccine-opposition-has-ebbed-and-flowed-over-centuries-291956021.html Sat, 14 Feb 2015 09:58:56 -0700 2015-02-14T08:58:56-08:00 Researchers test device to help deaf children detect sounds http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Researchers-test-device-to-help-deaf-children-detect-sounds-291955921.html By LAURAN NEERGAARD AP Medical Writer http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Researchers-test-device-to-help-deaf-children-detect-sounds-291955921.html Sat, 14 Feb 2015 09:55:38 -0700 2015-02-14T08:55:38-08:00 2015-02-14T08:55:35-08:00 Researchers test device to help deaf children detect sounds http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Researchers-test-device-to-help-deaf-children-detect-sounds-291877581.html By LAURAN NEERGAARD AP Medical Writer http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Researchers-test-device-to-help-deaf-children-detect-sounds-291877581.html Fri, 13 Feb 2015 13:14:25 -0700 2015-02-13T12:14:25-08:00 2015-02-13T12:14:23-08:00 A tiny seed can make a big difference for breast cancer patients http://www.komonews.com/news/health/A-tiny-seed-can-make-a-big-difference-for-breast-cancer-patients-291715241.html By Marina Rockinger http://www.komonews.com/news/health/A-tiny-seed-can-make-a-big-difference-for-breast-cancer-patients-291715241.html Thu, 12 Feb 2015 23:30:00 -0700 2015-02-12T22:30:00-08:00 2015-02-16T05:26:46-08:00 Do you know which fats are good for you? http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Fats-are-not-the-enemy---you-just-need-to-know-which-ones-to-avoid-291425481.html By Marina Rockinger http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Fats-are-not-the-enemy---you-just-need-to-know-which-ones-to-avoid-291425481.html Wed, 11 Feb 2015 02:30:00 -0700 2015-02-11T01:30:00-08:00 2015-02-10T11:39:18-08:00 Go nuts for nuts! http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Go-nuts-for-nuts-291304681.html By Marina Rockinger http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Go-nuts-for-nuts-291304681.html Tue, 10 Feb 2015 02:30:00 -0700
Dietician Kristal Lowe from Pacific Medical Centers explains they can help lead to living a longer and healthier life.]]>
2015-02-10T01:30:00-08:00 2015-02-09T12:10:15-08:00
Supplements industry derides NY attorney general's DNA tests http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Supplements-industry-derides-NY-attorney-generals-DNA-tests-291196871.html By MARY ESCH Associated Press http://www.komonews.com/news/health/Supplements-industry-derides-NY-attorney-generals-DNA-tests-291196871.html Sun, 08 Feb 2015 10:21:30 -0700 2015-02-08T09:21:30-08:00 2015-02-08T09:21:28-08:00 Parents lobby against caffeine powder: 'It's poison in a jar' http://www.komonews.com/news/local/Poison-in-a-jar-Parents-lobby-against-pure-caffeine-powder-291070271.html By Molly Shen http://www.komonews.com/news/local/Poison-in-a-jar-Parents-lobby-against-pure-caffeine-powder-291070271.html Fri, 06 Feb 2015 23:01:15 -0700 2015-02-06T22:01:15-08:00 2015-02-06T23:24:59-08:00